HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Guillows 500 Series Me Bf-109 Build (Read 1588 times)
ADW 123
activemembers

Guillows 500 Series Me Bf-109 Build
Aug 14th, 2011 at 7:37pm

got this at my LHS yesterday. i started construction on it today. i will go for Rubbber powered FF with no mods except for moving up the mount one bay. i have also scalloped my fuselage. i have never tried this before, and i think it turned out alright. i saved .4 grams from it as well. i used a round file. as you can see, i have basically all of my frames built up. just have to add the modified motor mount, and finish up the wing and sand up. ill see what i have in my stock of colored tissue, but i think i might go with a sky blue easy built lite.  here are some pics-

no bannana fuse on this one

the wing getting some dihedral

thats all for now. stand by

IP Logged

dmar836
activemembers

Re: Guillows 500 Series Me Bf-109 Build
Reply #1 - Aug 15th, 2011 at 3:16pm

Building them quick.  Good job.  Nice to know there are some younger guys out there with a passion.... for anything!
One suggestion would be to glue some sandpaper to a few sizes of wooden dowels and then not go quite so deep on your scallops.  If you get down to where there is only a "pedestal" left it will easily crack across the grain with minimal shock and you probably won't see it/them.
Keep em coming!
Dave

IP Logged

ADW 123
activemembers

Reply #2 - Aug 15th, 2011 at 3:33pm

i do notice a lack of pasion in todays young'uns..

anyways, i think i will do alright with the round file that i have. ill just not sand so much. i wasnt sure how far to go, but i think it will be ok for this one time. trial and error....

IP Logged

Dragan
activemembers

Reply #3 - Aug 15th, 2011 at 5:06pm

Nice craftsmanship pal.
I've never been even close to a guillow's model, but they sure look heavy on photos.

IP Logged

ADW 123
activemembers

Reply #4 - Aug 15th, 2011 at 5:12pm